## **2013 SMRT PRESIDENT'S AWARD RECIPIENT**

### SMRT PRESIDENT'S AWARD

This award was established to honor the most outstanding Proffered Paper of the SMRT 22<sup>nd</sup> Annual Meeting.

The recipient of this year's award,

## Shawna Farquharson

will be presenting her award-winning paper Saturday, 20 April at 12:50

Whole Brain Tractography Mapping Reveals Abnormal Structural Connections in Neuronal Heterotopia



Shawna Farquharson, B.Sc., M.Sc. Florey Institute of Neuroscience & Mental Health Melbourne, Australia

Shawna Farquharson is the Chief Radiographer at The Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health, Austin campus. In her current role she is responsible for the delivery of research based MR imaging, particularly functional MRI, EEG-fMRI, Spectroscopy, perfusion MRI and diffusion MRI for researchers within Australian neuroscience community.

Shawna's principal research interest is in the application of the recently proposed in-house tractography technique, constrained spherical deconvolution (CSD), to patient populations of clinical and neuroscience interest. Throughout her career, she has supported her diverse clinical expertise with continued postgraduate education. In 2001 she completed the Oxford MRI course at John Radcliffe Hospital, UK. In 2004, she gained the Australian Institute of Radiography Certificate of MRI Accreditation. In 2007 she completed a Masters of Health Science at the University of Sydney, Australia and is currently undertaking part-time PhD through Monash University, Melbourne, Australia.

Her work has already received significant national and international acknowledgement. Highlights include receiving the President's Award for most outstanding proffered papers at the 18th & 22nd (2009 & 2013) Annual Meetings of the Section of Magnetic Resonance Technologists (SMRT), and an invitation to speak to the Neuroscience community at the Conference of the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine (ISMRM) in Montreal (2011).

### Recent publications:

Farquharson S, Tournier J-D, Calamante F, Fabinyi G, Scheider-Kolsky M, Jackson GD, et al.: White Matter Fibre Tractography: Why we need to move beyond DTI. Journal of Neurosurgery In press: 2012

Farquharson S, Tournier J-D, Calamante F, Fabinyi G, Scheider-Kolsky M, Jackson GD, et al.: Editorial response. Journal of Neurosurgery In press: 2012

# SMRT PRESIDENT'S AWARD RECIPIENTS:

2012 Saba Ansari

2011 Megan Cromer

2010 Adriane Komancsek

2009 Shawna Farquharson

2008 Violet Chua

2007 Michael Kean

2006 Caron Murray

2005 John Totman

2004 Eric Douglas

2003 Eva Wembacher

2002 Marcela Montequin

2001 Cindy Comeau

2000 Inge Carstens

1999 Cheryl Johnson

1998 Maureen Hood

1997 Richard Nibbs

1996 Jim Garrison

1995 John Wells

1994 Bobbie Burrow

1993 Maureen Ainslie